One Dollar BillAs a kid, I would visit my mom and stepdad just about every weekend. For a brief time as child, we went to church. Honestly, I didn’t like it, but that’s another story for another time. However, one of the things I distinctly remember was that they made me and my two stepbrothers tithe 10%… on a $1 allowance. It’s not that I hated giving a measly dime in the offering every week, it was that I hated going to the Dollar Store after having to tithe on my $1 allowance! Do you know how depressing it is as a kid to know you are so close to buying something, only to have to walk away empty handed?!

Over the years, my view of dollar stores has changed. While I normally share websites, tips and games, today I want to share with you one of my favorite places to create a game: the Dollar Store. Now keep in mind that when I say the dollar store, I’m talking about those stores that sell EVERYTHING in their store for $1 or less. Places like Dollar Tree or the .99 Only Store.

There have been many days that I’ve waltzed into the dollar store looking for inspiration. It’s hard not to feel inspired when you pass by mac n’ cheese, toilet paper, almanacs from 2006, Frisbees and brooms in the span of thirty seconds.

Since the Dollar Store is so cheap, it affords me the opportunity to buy a number of things without ringing up a huge tab. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but remember that we are called to be good stewards of the resources God’s entrusted to us.

The other reason I love the Dollar Store is that it is a great resource for a number of games. More often than not, I wind up walking out with more things than I anticipated. I see lemon juice and sugar and think let’s make that a game (I shared Pucker Up with you earlier this week). Other times I put together crazy relays using items they carry.

The point of my post today is twofold. First, look for places to save, whether it’s the dollar store, Goodwill or another thrift store. Secondly, be creative. Great ideas often come out of simple things. Don’t get discouraged if you don’t have a huge budget, you can still have fun!

So take a trip down to your local Dollar Store and see what games you can come up with this week!

For all our games and tips, make sure to follow us on Twitter @stumingames.

